“Tell Mom and Dad I look forward to speaking with them in Burmese when we return,” I said to my in-laws at Yangon International Airport. My wife translated, and I hugged them.

That was well over a year ago. Since then, I’ve become 13% fluent in Spanish on Duolingo and have memorized both Japanese hiragana and katakana syllabaries. In Burmese I can say “I love you, let’s eat, I’m full, thank you.” I’m ashamed of myself. If I’m going to have more than an affectionate and appreciative dinner in Yangon, I must take action.

Tim Ferriss has a post entitled “How to Learn Any Language in 3 Months” and I’m going to see if he’s lying. It’s early November, so it follows that if I read his post and do everything he says, I’ll be conversationally fluent in Burmese by Valentine’s Day.

A most appropriate day to say chit teh.

Written by Ryan Staples

Writer | DP | Editor | Filmmaker

One comment

Comments are closed.