I worked for the City of Owensboro from May 2003 to November 2011, which is why the exact month and year that Jason and I installed the Windows theme on Diane’s computer escapes me. It was a beach theme. Beach themes keep office workers from falling into despair. This theme’s startup sound was 15 seconds of “Never Forget Where I’m From” and the shutdown sound was 15 seconds of “Streets of Waiks”, both songs by an obscure Hawaiian artist named Justin Kawika Young. We got a kick out of it.



Fast forward a lot of years and I’m married to a girl who is a huge fan of Colbie Callait, thus I’ve bought every Colbie Callait record ever released. Marriage changes a person.

Colbie is playing in Columbus later this month and we’re going.

Opening for Colbie is her fiancé, Justin Kawika Young.

I got a kick out of that.

Written by Ryan Staples

Professional videographer, proficient photographer, practicing writer. Imperfect perfectionist.