Yangon, Myanmar.
Yangon, Myanmar

When I first got a Canon 5D Mark 2, I bought two lenses: the Zeiss 50mm (f/1.4) and the Canon 24-105mm (f/4.0). That was in 2010.  So I’ve been shooting with the 24-105 for a while now and have accumulated some mixed feelings over the years.  It’s a joy to shoot photos with outdoors in daylight, but as it’s an f/4, around nightfall one has to compensate for the speed by bumping up the ISO or slowing the shutter.  Fine if you like grain (I do) or have a steady hand (I drink a lot of coffee).  For video, it’s my go-to lens for b-roll footage in situations where I’ll need a variety of focal lengths in a short amount of time. However, to keep the desired shallow depth of field during the day, I have to throw on an ND filter which creates an obnoxious vignette at 24mm.  And maybe it’s just me, but I occasionally have a hard time finding focus on this lens (even with the overpriced Zacuto Z-Finder).

Canon 24-105mm.
Canon 24-105mm
Maggie enjoys some mohinga.
Maggie enjoys mohinga
Taxi driver.
Taxi driver
Taxi.
Taxi
Shan Yoe Yar, a favorite place for Shan cuisine.
Shan Yoe Yar, a favorite place for Shan cuisine
Maggie's former office building.
Maggie’s former office building
Wardan Street.
Wardan Street

With Yangon’s minimal street lighting, it was really too dark for an f/4 lens to get the shots I wanted. That, and perhaps familiarity had bred enough contempt for my nice but hit-and-miss 24-105 that I wasn’t keen on shooting all that much. Sometimes it’s best to put the camera down and be where you are.

Christine, Maggie, Veronica.
Christine, Maggie, Veronica
Written by Ryan Staples

Professional videographer, proficient photographer, practicing writer. Imperfect perfectionist.