I discovered Tim Ferriss on July 9, 2009 at the [now closed] Borders on 33rd and 7th in New York City. Contentment with the [now over] job that had sent me to The Big Apple for [now outdated] Apple Motion 3 training was waning. Thus The 4-Hour Workweek title drew me as a tractor beam. I picked it up along with Lafcadio Hearn’s Glimpses of Unfamiliar Japan and a tall coffee. The following evening at a Starbucks down the street, dreaming of Japan and a shorter workweek, I began Tim’s book, the prologue serendipitously penned in Tokyo. I’d love to say that evening changed my life. And for the mere fact that I met Tim Ferriss and his experiments in lifestyle design, it may have. However, I wasn’t ready for 4HWW. I made it halfway through the book and put it down skeptical, intimidated, and thoroughly daunted but haunted, haunted by the notion that I lacked the three currencies of this age: Time, Income, and Mobility.

IMG_1041
My view from Starbucks on 35th and 7th as I first read The 4-Hour Workweek. (Photo: iPhone 3G, 7/10/09)

Six years have passed. I now have a different job that I enjoy, but I’m still dreaming of Japan (among other things), a more efficient workweek, and one day finding TIM. Perhaps the time is right to begin my own experiments in lifestyle design.

Written by Ryan Staples

Professional videographer, proficient photographer, practicing writer. Imperfect perfectionist.